Insult to injury

It seems like I have done a lot of posts on hit by pitch. I suppose it is because there are a lot of misconceptions around this rule.

Here is a clip from yesterday’s Tiger/Rays game

Rule 6.08(b) says:

The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when—

(b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball
is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt
to avoid being touched by the ball;

I added the emphasis.

If a batter swings at a ball and misses – it is a strike. This is the case whether the ball hit him or not.

The only difference in the case of a ball hitting a batter is the ball is dead. The ball is always dead when it strikes a batter. After the ball is dead, the umpire determines if the batter gets a base.

In the instances listed in the rule, he would not get his base.

I love how someone in the background is yelling “foul ball”. This is not right. If Longoria would have had two strikes on him when this happened – he would have been out for strike 3. It is a dead ball strike.

Hit by pitch is covered on page 41 of RuleGraphics.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s