Stay off my field

Umpires like to make fun of announcers. We just cannot understand how someone can be around baseball 200 days a year and not learn the rules. I am all about being fair though.

In this clip the announcer absolutely nails the ruling. Maybe the worm is turning. The play involves spectator interference.

 

Rule 3.16 covers this.

3.16 When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference.

Notice the wording of the penalty – the umpire shall impose such penalties to nullify the interference. it does not clarify outs, any certain number of bases awarded, anything. Umpires call this the “God” rule. Umpires try their best to determine what will happen and make it so. In this instance Joe West did not feel the runner would make second – so he kept him at first. Good call.

Lastly, spectator interference only occurs when the fan reaches over the stands. If a fielder goes into the stands and is interfered with – tough cookies.

Spectator interference is covered on page 65 of RuleGraphics

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s