Like a punch to the gut

Here is a play that is making the rounds today.

Well, that escalated quickly. The catcher was clearly trying to get an interference call. Should the umpire have granted the interference?

Rule 6.06 (c)

6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when—

(c) He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.

EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out, or if runner trying to score is called out for batter’s interference.

One of two things have to happen to gran interference here. Either the batter has to step out of the batter’s box (did not happen) or he has to move to hinder (did not happen…the batter did not move).

The batter did not hinder the catcher as much as the catcher hindered himself. The umpire made a good call on this one.

I should not laugh at the batter’s pain, but the look of terror and confusion after he got whacked is sort of funny. He is probably wondering how the catcher did not get thrown out of the game.

Just an odd play. Page 42 of RuleGraphics covers Batter’s Interference. Check out our website for ordering information and samples.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s