That is why you wear a mask

Here is a pretty interesting foul ball.

The more interesting question is what would happen if this was just a pitch that got lodged in the mask.

Rule 5.09(g):

5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when—

(g) A pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;

Again this is a foul ball so the rule does not apply. But, can you imagine a catcher whiffing on a pitch and the runners all getting an extra base. That would be a heck of a way to lose a game.

Balls lodged in player/umpire equipment is covered on page 61 of Rulegraphics.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s